Chief Festus Olawoyin Awosika (OFR), 1911-1965

F. O. Awosika: A Most Illustrious Ondo Son

Awosika Represents Nigeria at the Formation of the Cocoa Producers’ Alliance



Ivory Coast, on 19 and 20 January 1962.


Delegates from the countries of cocoa farmers

– Republic of Ghana

– Federation of Nigeria

– United Nations of Brazil

– Republic of Côte d’Ivoire

– Federal Republic of Cameroon

having met in Abidjan, Ivory Coast on January 19, 1962, and having discussed issues of mutual interest, decided to form, subject to the approval of their respective governments, an Alliance of cocoa farmers, according to the following statutes:


Article I

Under the name of the Alliance of Producers of Cocoa Producers (hereinafter Alliance) is created this organization.

Article II

1) exchange scientific and technical information.

2) To discuss problems of mutual interest and to promote economic and social relations between producers.

3) Ensure adequate supplies to the market at reasonable prices.

4) Promote the expansion of consumption.

Article III

1) All cocoa producing countries can be a member of the Alliance, and the founders are Ghana, Nigeria, Brazil, Ivory Coast and Cameroon.

2) Each country shall be represented at Meetings by duly accredited representatives.

3) There shall be a President, a Vice President, a Secretary, a Treasurer and General Counsel, who shall be elected at the annual General Assembly of the Alliance. The President may be reelected only once.

4) The Alliance shall adopt rules consistent with the terms of this Agreement.

Article IV
Board of Directors

1) There shall be an Executive Board consisting of President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and General Counsel, without pay. The Executive Board shall implement the provisions of this Agreement and appoint sub-committees and working groups as required to carry the burden of the Alliance.

2) These sub-committees or working groups shall appoint their chairmen.

Article V

1) The Alliance shall have a Secretariat consisting of an Executive Secretary, who will lead the office and the staff necessary for the efficient functioning of the Alliance and its committees.

2) The Executive Secretary and the staff may not have any financial interest in the cocoa processing industry and may not seek or receive instructions concerning their duties from any government or other authority outside the Alliance.

Article VI
Headquarters and General Assembly of the Alliance

1) The headquarters of the Alliance will be in Lagos (Nigeria).

2) The Alliance will hold two annual general meetings, in March and September. Annual shareholders’ meetings shall be convened by the Alliance President. The extraordinary general meetings shall be called by the President when deemed necessary or at the request of one third of the member countries.

Article VII

Each member shall be entitled to one vote and decisions are taken by majority vote.

Article VIII

1) The resources of the Alliance shall consist of:

a) annual contributions to address the running costs of the Secretariat;

b) special contributions, and

c) other revenues.

2) The contributions referred to in (a) and (b) above will be proportional to the yield of each member in the previous year.

3) The balances calculated at the end of each year will be taken to a reserve fund, which application shall be determined by the General Assembly.

Article IX

The Alliance may be dissolved at any time by a vote of 75% of member countries in the extraordinary general meeting convened expressly for this purpose, which will decide on the destination to be given to the assets and liabilities of Alliance.

The Alliance will enter into force when at least three governments there are given their approval, which shall be addressed to the Government of Côte d’Ivoire.


Brazil – Antonio A. G. Taveira (Director CACEX).

Cameroon – Jean Pierre Grillon (Deputy Director of the box Stabilization of Cameroon).

Ghana – E. Quartey-Papfio (Cocoa Industry Division).

Ivory Coast – Jacques Aka (President of Caixa Stabilization).

Nigeria – F. O. Awosika (President of the Cocoa Marketing Board).

The creation of the Alliance in Brazil was approved by the Council of … SUMOC session on 2/15/62 and signed by then Consleho of Ministers meeting on 05.11.62.


Leave a Reply